What to Read after Finishing ‘The Summer I Turned Pretty’

Did you read Jenny Han’s The Summer I Turned Pretty or recently finished watching the TV series adaptation?

We have a list of books you’ll enjoy if you’re a fan of Belly’s summer adventures at Cousins Beach. Whether you’re Team Conrad or Team Jeremiah, add these books to your list of summertime reads.

Alexandria Branch

Breathless by Jennifer Niven

From the author of the critically acclaimed novel All the Bright Places, this book features a story filled with Niven’s signature brand of love and heartbreak. Claudine (Claude) Henry spends a life-changing summer at the beach, where she deals with her parents’ crumbling marriage while falling in love with local teen Jeremiah Crew.

View in Catalog

 


Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

It was the summer before college and Auden has uncharacteristically decided to spend it at the beach with her father, stepmother and new baby sister. Auden begins taking risks and leaving her comfort zone by trying to make new friends in the beachside community. The summer also brings a blossoming new romance for Auden with local loner, Eli. You can watch the Netflix adaptation after reading the book.

View in Catalog

 


To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

If you’re a fan of The Summer I Turned Pretty’s author Jenny Han, be sure to read up on the life and lovers of Lara Jean Song Covey. Lara Jean’s life is thrown into disarray when her big sister, Margo, moves away for college and her little sister, Kitty, takes an interest in Lara’s lacking love life. Kitty secretly mails a collection of love letters that Lara Jean had written to crushes throughout her life, but had never intended on sending herself.

Lara Jean then must face the fallout of the letters’ contents. The first book in the trilogy is perfect for fans of the fake dating trope. All three books were adapted for the screen and are available on Netflix.

View in Catalog

 


Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch 

Who wouldn’t want to spend a summer in Italy traveling throughout Tuscany? While this book contains some great Italian summertime romance, it also tackles other serious topics. Lina travels to Italy to find her father and fulfill her mother’s dying wish. While there, she finds herself as she begins to uncover some of her mom’s secrets. This book was also recently adapted into a Netflix movie.

View in Catalog

 


Right Where I Left You by Julian Winters

Best friends Isaac and Diego are ready to soak up their last summer together before college and make it as memorable as possible. Run-ins with ex-crushes and miscommunications get between Diego and Isaac’s perfect summer together and begin to cause issues in their friendship. As summer unfolds, there might be more to Diego and Isaac’s story than just friendship.

View in Catalog

 


Cool for the Summer by Dahlia Adler

After years of pining after Chase Harding, 17-year old Lara finally has her dream crush in her sights. There’s one problem: she can’t stop thinking about the romantic summer she spent with Jasmine. Similar to The Summer I Turned Pretty, Cool for the Summer is just as much about self-discovery as it is about teenage love.

View in Catalog

 


More News

Follow Us!

Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
We might be a little biased, but we think we have the most talented patrons in all of Northern Kentucky. This years Art After Hours featured our first-ever Tiny Art Show, where participants were given a small canvas to paint and display at the event. Art After Hours attendees then voted on their favorite pieces of tiny art.

We might be a little biased, but we think we have the most talented patrons in all of Northern Kentucky. This year's Art After Hours featured our first-ever Tiny Art Show, where participants were given a small canvas to paint and display at the event. Art After Hours attendees then voted on their favorite pieces of tiny art. ... See MoreSee Less

7 hours ago
Heads up! Our website, catalog and app will be down starting around 9:30 pm today until Saturday morning due to scheduled server maintenance. Other online services, such as Libby and KLU, will remain available.

Heads up! Our website, catalog and app will be down starting around 9:30 pm today until Saturday morning due to scheduled server maintenance. Other online services, such as Libby and KLU, will remain available. ... See MoreSee Less

2 days ago
Mirsada Kadiric will share her personal story of her childhood journey in 1992 from Bosnia to Western Europe and the United States at our first Spotlight Series event. Register today at https://loom.ly/PUjq0V8, and join us at our Newport Branch on Thursday, Aug. 11 at 7 pm.

Mirsada Kadiric will share her personal story of her childhood journey in 1992 from Bosnia to Western Europe and the United States at our first Spotlight Series event. Register today at loom.ly/PUjq0V8, and join us at our Newport Branch on Thursday, Aug. 11 at 7 pm. ... See MoreSee Less

3 days ago
Whats better than a summer night filled with art, music and food? Fridays Art After Hours was one for the record books. We had so much fun meeting all of the great local artists and hanging out with our patrons. See you all at next years Art After Hours!

What's better than a summer night filled with art, music and food? Friday's Art After Hours was one for the record books. We had so much fun meeting all of the great local artists and hanging out with our patrons. See you all at next year's Art After Hours! ... See MoreSee Less

5 days ago
Load more