What to Read after Finishing ‘The Summer I Turned Pretty’

Did you read Jenny Han’s The Summer I Turned Pretty or recently finished watching the TV series adaptation?

We have a list of books you’ll enjoy if you’re a fan of Belly’s summer adventures at Cousins Beach. Whether you’re Team Conrad or Team Jeremiah, add these books to your list of summertime reads.

Alexandria Branch

Breathless by Jennifer Niven

From the author of the critically acclaimed novel All the Bright Places, this book features a story filled with Niven’s signature brand of love and heartbreak. Claudine (Claude) Henry spends a life-changing summer at the beach, where she deals with her parents’ crumbling marriage while falling in love with local teen Jeremiah Crew.

View in Catalog

 


Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

It was the summer before college and Auden has uncharacteristically decided to spend it at the beach with her father, stepmother and new baby sister. Auden begins taking risks and leaving her comfort zone by trying to make new friends in the beachside community. The summer also brings a blossoming new romance for Auden with local loner, Eli. You can watch the Netflix adaptation after reading the book.

View in Catalog

 


To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

If you’re a fan of The Summer I Turned Pretty’s author Jenny Han, be sure to read up on the life and lovers of Lara Jean Song Covey. Lara Jean’s life is thrown into disarray when her big sister, Margo, moves away for college and her little sister, Kitty, takes an interest in Lara’s lacking love life. Kitty secretly mails a collection of love letters that Lara Jean had written to crushes throughout her life, but had never intended on sending herself.

Lara Jean then must face the fallout of the letters’ contents. The first book in the trilogy is perfect for fans of the fake dating trope. All three books were adapted for the screen and are available on Netflix.

View in Catalog

 


Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch 

Who wouldn’t want to spend a summer in Italy traveling throughout Tuscany? While this book contains some great Italian summertime romance, it also tackles other serious topics. Lina travels to Italy to find her father and fulfill her mother’s dying wish. While there, she finds herself as she begins to uncover some of her mom’s secrets. This book was also recently adapted into a Netflix movie.

View in Catalog

 


Right Where I Left You by Julian Winters

Best friends Isaac and Diego are ready to soak up their last summer together before college and make it as memorable as possible. Run-ins with ex-crushes and miscommunications get between Diego and Isaac’s perfect summer together and begin to cause issues in their friendship. As summer unfolds, there might be more to Diego and Isaac’s story than just friendship.

View in Catalog

 


Cool for the Summer by Dahlia Adler

After years of pining after Chase Harding, 17-year old Lara finally has her dream crush in her sights. There’s one problem: she can’t stop thinking about the romantic summer she spent with Jasmine. Similar to The Summer I Turned Pretty, Cool for the Summer is just as much about self-discovery as it is about teenage love.

View in Catalog

 


More News

Follow Us!

Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
Pick up the October edition of our Connections newsletter at any of our library branches or read it online at https://loom.ly/3Ymj_rs. 🎃

Pick up the October edition of our 'Connections' newsletter at any of our library branches or read it online at loom.ly/3Ymj_rs. 🎃 ... See MoreSee Less

2 days ago

1 CommentComment on Facebook

Great picture Mercedes

All library branches will be closed on Friday, Sept. 29 for staff training. Regular hours will resume on Saturday, Sept. 30.

All library branches will be closed on Friday, Sept. 29 for staff training. Regular hours will resume on Saturday, Sept. 30. ... See MoreSee Less

3 days ago
Need to refresh your bookshelves? Head to the Friends of the Library Book Sale at the Newport Branch 9 am - noon on Thursday, Sept. 28 to peruse used books, CDs, DVDs and audiobooks at incredible prices.

Need to refresh your bookshelves? Head to the Friends of the Library Book Sale at the Newport Branch 9 am - noon on Thursday, Sept. 28 to peruse used books, CDs, DVDs and audiobooks at incredible prices. ... See MoreSee Less

4 days ago

1 CommentComment on Facebook

Which branch? Newport?

Today is the first day of fall, which means its officially Gilmore Girls season! 🍁 To celebrate, we made some bookish memes of our favorite Stars Hollow residents. 📖

Today is the first day of fall, which means it's officially Gilmore Girls season! 🍁 To celebrate, we made some bookish memes of our favorite Stars Hollow residents. 📖 ... See MoreSee Less

5 days ago

2 CommentsComment on Facebook

Guess I have to start the series over. ❤🧡🤎💛

Miss this show so much

Sept. 22 is Hobbit Day, a celebration of J.R.R. Tolkiens Lord of the Rings universe. The date also marks the shared birthday of Bilbo and Frodo Baggins. Elevenses, anyone? 🧭🏞️

Sept. 22 is Hobbit Day, a celebration of J.R.R. Tolkien's "Lord of the Rings" universe. The date also marks the shared birthday of Bilbo and Frodo Baggins. Elevenses, anyone? 🧭🏞️ ... See MoreSee Less

6 days ago
Were still celebrating Library Card Sign-Up Month this month at all of our branches! Sign up for a library card or check out books at your branch this September for the chance to win CCPL merch. Details at https://loom.ly/CztqhDI.

We're still celebrating Library Card Sign-Up Month this month at all of our branches! Sign up for a library card or check out books at your branch this September for the chance to win CCPL merch. Details at loom.ly/CztqhDI. ... See MoreSee Less

1 week ago
Load more