Campbell County Public Library News Release

For Immediate Release Sept. 28, 2020

Contact: Mackenzie Manley 858-781-6166 ext. 24 (office)

Library Appoints Two New Board Members

The Campbell County Public Library's Board of Trustees welcomed new members Jessica Schweitzer and Maggie Brown on Wednesday, Sept. 16. They will serve as secretary and trustee, respectively. Their terms officially begin Thursday, Oct. 1, and will expire on Sept. 30, 2024.

"Jessica and Maggie have both illustrated a great passion for their communities and the services our library system provides," said CCPL Director JC Morgan. "They are sure to bring unique perspectives and skills to the board as advocates for the Campbell County Public Library."

A licensed and practicing physician assistant, Brown grew up in Fort Thomas with a great love for the public library. Her background marries the humanities with the sciences: Brown holds a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish from Kentucky's Georgetown College and a Master of Science in Health Sciences and Public Health from George Washington University.

"I believe that this opportunity within the Campbell County Public Library system would be the perfect addition to my foundational desire to maintain a dedicated relationship to my community and the services it provides," said Brown, who also volunteers with the East Row Historic Foundation and the Junior League of Cincinnati.

Schweitzer of California, KY is well-versed in the ways of the library, having earned a Master's in Information and Library Science from the University of Kentucky. As a parent of three young children, Schweitzer also frequents the library as a patron and has experienced first-hand the value its services bring not only to her own family but to the community at large.

The current board also includes Tracy Smith, president; Christie Fillhardt, vice president; and Jonathan S. Cullick, treasurer. The board meets at 5:30 pm on the third Wednesday of each month. All board meetings are open to the public. Depending on coronavirus restrictions, the meetings could be on YouTube or in-person. Visit www.cc-pl.org for the most current information.

Exiting the board is former president Cathy Howard and former treasurer Paul Johnson.

"Cathy and Paul have diligently served our library and, in turn, the communities we touch. The departure comes as both end their second four-year term this year," Morgan said. "We will miss their guidance and insight but rest easy knowing the good hands the board has been left in."

The Campbell County Public Library operates four branches. The Cold Spring Branch is located at 3920 Alexandria Pike in Cold Spring, phone 859-781-6166. The Carrico/Fort Thomas Branch is located at 1000 Highland Ave. in Fort Thomas, phone 859-572-5033. The Newport Branch is located at 901 E. Sixth St. in Newport, phone 859-572-5035. The Alexandria Branch is located at 8830 Alexandria Pike in Alexandria, phone 859-572-7463. Express locations for pick ups and returns are located in Silver Grove and Melbourne.

Hours for Cold Spring, Carrico/Fort Thomas and Newport branches are 11 a.m.-7 p.m. Monday-Friday; 1-5 p.m. Saturday; and closed Sunday. Hours for Alexandria are 11 a.m.-7 p.m. Tuesday-Friday; 1-5 p.m. Saturday; and closed Sunday and Monday. The website address is www.cc-pl.org.